Chief selector Islahuddin Siddique has announced the 18 member Pakistan team for the Hockey Series Open scheduled from December 17-22 at the National Hockey Stadium, Lahore.
The Hockey Series Open is an FIH event and the four nations competing here are Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Nepal.
Since, Pakistan has been selected for the FIH Pro League, the high profile new event starting from early 2019, the Pakistan side here is not the national side and it will enter as the President XI.
Importantly, the matches played by the President XI against the other sides will only be considered friendly games and will not carry any points towards the event.
The other four sides will be competing against each other in real terms. All players are directed to report tomorrow (15-12-2018) afternoon at National Hockey stadium Lahore.
Event Details

President XI:

Goal Keepers: Muneebur Rehman & Hafiz Umair
Defenders: Abid Bhatti, M.Ammar, Samiullah & Mubashar Jibran
Midfielders: Usman Ghani, Mohibullah, Ali Raza (Gojra) & Asif Hanif
Forwards: Zaheer Hussain, Abdul Mannan, Murtaza Yaqoob, Awaisur Rehman (Captain),Qamar Bhukhari, Arsalan Haider, Zulqarnain & Mohsin Khan
The President PHF, Brig (rtd) Khalid Sajjad Khokhar has named the following officials for the President XI.
Manager: Shahid Parvez Bhandara
Coaches: Kashif Jawad & Muhammad Shabbir